This website has an optional login for website subscribers below. To customise the web content and receive email updates, register here.

Follow Us Twitter RSS LinkedIn YouTube Google+
Help icon

Get better results by searching for an exact phrase using quotation marks, e.g. "extended learning support"

Entering more than one term, e.g. extended learning support will search for any of those words.

About Us
Save this page

Research & Knowledge Exchange Committee

The Research & Knowledge Exchange Committee (RKEC) has a role to respond to, recommend and advise the Council on research and knowledge exchange strategy, policy and funding issues relevant to Scottish higher education institutions and colleges (taking into account the international dimension), with broad areas of advice including but not limited to:

  • Providing regular analyses of the strengths, weaknesses and opportunities and threats in the areas of research and innovation support, taking a broad view.
  • Providing regular and timely advice to the Council on prioritisation, in the use of the Council's resources to maximise the delivery of the strategic plan and to address Scottish Government outcomes.
  • Working with enterprise agencies and other stakeholders to give Council advice on a strategy for innovation and support of knowledge exchange for sustainable economic growth.
  • Identifying opportunities for Council to consider interventions to leverage significant resource into Scotland in support of research and/or knowledge exchange.


Council members

External members

  • Professor Anne Anderson
    Vice-Principal and Head of College of Social Sciences, University of Glasgow
  • Professor Tim Bedford
    University of Strathclyde
  • Professor Susan Craw
    Faculty of Design & Technology, Robert Gordon University
  • Professor David Cumming
    Chair of Electronic Systems, Dean of Research and Knowledge Transfer, College of Science and Engineering, University of Glasgow
  • Dr Alicia Greated
    Director of Research and Enterprise, Heriot-Watt University
  • Dr Jano van Hemert
    Research Director, Optos
  • Professor Tom Inns
    Director, Glasgow School of Art
  • Dr Siobhan Jordan
    Director of Interface 
  • Professor Sir Timothy O’Shea
    Principal, University of Edinburgh and Convener, Universities Scotland’s Research and Knowledge Exchange Committee

  • Ian Reid
    Chief Executive, Scottish Innovation Centre for sensor and imaging systems (CENSIS)
  • Professor Jonathan Seckl
    Vice Principal Planning, Resources & Research Policy, University of Edinburgh


  • Morven Cameron, Highlands and Islands Enterprise
  • Andrew Howie, Scottish Enterprise
  • Carolyn Reeve, Department of Business, Innovation and Skills (UK Government)
  • Alex Vincent, Research Councils UK
  • Teresa Martin, Scottish Government