This website has an optional login for website subscribers below. To customise the web content and receive email updates, register here.

Follow Us Twitter RSS LinkedIn YouTube Google+
Help icon

Get better results by searching for an exact phrase using quotation marks, e.g. "extended learning support"

Entering more than one term, e.g. extended learning support will search for any of those words.


Related Material

Further information and links related to the content of this page can be found below:

Clerk: Sheila Meehan, email:

Access and Inclusion Committee Standing Orders [PDF]

Access & Inclusion Committee meeting papers

Meeting dates

21 November 2017
28 February 2018

About Us
Save this page

Access and Inclusion Committee

The Access and Inclusion Committee (AIC) advises the Council on its access, inclusion, equality and diversity ambitions and supports its implementation of its strategic plan.

In particular the committee aims to:

  • Achieve and provide evidence of an equality of outcomes for all students.
  • Support strong leadership in SFC to deliver its vision for an equality of outcomes including advice on how to embed positive cultural change in both sectors.
  • Advise and oversee SFC's response to the implementation of the Scottish Government’s Blueprint for Fairness recommendations including the specific recommendations for the intake from the 20% most deprived communities and care experience.
  • Advise and oversee SFC's response to the implementation of the Scottish Government’s Youth Employment Strategy including tackling the inequalities outlined in relation to gender, race, disability and care experience.


Council members

External members

  • Professor Frank Coton
    University of Glasgow (Universities Scotland representative)
  • Vincent Docherty
    Head of Secondary and Inclusion, Aberdeenshire Council (ADES representative)
  • Heather Dunk
    Principal, Ayrshire College (Colleges Scotland representative)
  • James Dunphy
    Director of Enhancement of Learning, Teaching and Access, Robert Gordon University
  • Iain MacRitchie
    MCR Pathways
  • Alan Sherry
    Principal, Glasgow Kelvin College (Colleges Scotland representative)
  • Dr Edward Sosu
    Lecturer, School of Education, University of Strathclyde


  • Lorna Caldwell, Student Awards Agency for Scotland
  • Lynn Graham, Scottish Government
  • Professor Leni Oglesby OBE, Higher Education Funding Council for Wales